top of page

A Walk Through My IUD Insertion & Why You Might Want One.

It's a rainy Friday morning and I walk into the West Hartford's Planned Parenthood location. I was just dropped off by my friend Jade, and I start filling out my paperwork immediately. I'm eagerly awaiting meeting with the doctor to talk to her about the procedure. Doing research online hasn't eased my nerves so she's kind of my last hope. When I'm called in they take my weight, height, blood & test me for STDs (recommended when going to get an IUD). I then follow the nurse to another small room where there were diagrams or IUD insertions on the walls, she has the tools used to do the procedure and every other form of birth control. I sit, and she asks me what type of birth control I was thinking about and I explain to her I want an IUD, but I'm not completely sold. She shows me two IUDs one is smaller with a copper lining towards the bottom and the bigger one is just white. I tell her I heard that the copper IUD is an easy way to get an infection. She then explains to me that only a small percent of women even gets an infection from any IUD let alone copper IUDs.

Copper IUD.

Copper IUDs aren't even dangerous. Turns out the difference between copper IUDs and a hormonal IUD (what I have) is that copper is what is being continuously released into the uterus instead of hormones. Copper is toxic to sperm making it damn near impossible to even get to an egg. With hormonal IUDs, a hormone called levonorgestrel along with others is being released into the uterus which makes the vaginal mucus/lining thicker therefore harder for sperm to get to an egg. At this point I am sold on an IUD, I just wasn't sure which one still. While the nurse is putting more information into the computer she then explains to me why IUDs have gotten such a bad reputation in the past.

An earlier version of the IUD caused major infections and death in some cases. Back in the 70's the Dalkon Shield caused pelvic infections, led to infertility in many women and death. The infections were linked to the braided multi-filament strings that allowed bacteria to travel up into the uterus. Now, all IUDs are made to reduce the risk of infection as well as lasting pregnancy protection. Other great news about them is that they last anywhere from 3-12 years, they start working almost immediately, contrary to popular believe they do not stop you from ovulating, you or your doctor can take them out anytime and try to get pregnant immediately (when the time is right). At this point, I'm sold, and I tell the nurse I want the hormonal IUD because something doesn't sit well with me about copper in my uterus. I trust it, it's just not for me. It feels so good to make these choices about my body myself.  IUD, patch, bar or pills? Copper or Hormonal? How many years? The only person whose opinion mattered in that situation was mine and I'll never forget the feeling. 

The nurse hands me my pamphlet explaining Mirena, a 5-12-year IUD, also known as the number one IUD in the country. I then go back to the waiting room while they get everything set up. When I'm called back in the nurse gives me my gown and I meet the Doctor. She's an older white lady with a big smile on her face. She asks me if I have any questions and I tell her "no ma'am."  She tells me to get undressed below. I lay on the bed with my legs up in the holsters and scoot forward as much as possible, so my vagina is legit looking her in the face.

She then...

1) Inserts the speculum into my vagina (same as a Pap smear)

2) Cleans my cervix and examines my uterus. They're looking for the direction and how long it is.

3) They then put the IUD in a tiny clear plastic tube that looks like a straw and stick it through the uterus

4) Then they cut the strings towards the end.

Before I knew it, I was done, and the doctor tells me that after the bleeding stops I can check for the strings to make sure of correct insertion. It took 5 min at most and only caused a slight bit of cramping. It feels just like period cramps and they only lasted a week for me. Ever since then I feel like it's the best decision I've made in a long time. It feels good to enjoy my sex life and not worry about pregnancy or remembering to keep my ringer on, so I'll hear my 12:30 alarm, or ordering more birth control before I run out for the month. It feels great not having to pay for birth control for the next 6 years. I think these are the best options for young women who want to get a grip on their reproductive health. 

Hormonal IUD

POPULAR TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page