top of page

A Daily Occurance for my POC.

We all have something that makes us feel less alone. Whether it's a stuffed animal or an opinionated blog, everyone has something. One of mine is twitter. Twitter is where I am in my element. Twitter is my second hand source for news and info so I'm on it constantly. I also use it to network with others like me and talk to people that share the same views as I do. To put it lightly, I live for twitter. This morning was no different, but I thought I'd write about this today, because as we all know, the racial tension in America these days is thicker than a bowl of morning old grits. Yuck! 

As many do, I love reading the comments to tweets. I can spend an hour reading the comments to one tweet and barely blink. One mans comments got my attention and it warranted a response from little old me. The post starts by quoting a tweet stating that Spotify removed a number of white supremacist bands. The person quoted it by saying "It's good that companies are doing this, but it literally took a white woman counter protester dying for all of them to take action." She is not wrong. Let's get that out of the way first. People commenting on her tweet (all white) say things like "whatever it takes as long as it gets there", but the comment that made my blood boil was "But if all you are gonna focus on when it's done and how long it took to get there you'll never be satisfied." When he says "it" I'm guessing he's referring to the complete removal of racial hatred in America. Let's just go with that.

Let me explain to my readers what POC hate. We cannot stand being told what/how we should feel about anything that has to do with race. Especially when it has to do with us being discriminated against. I'm sure it must be incredibly easy to look at a situation you can relate nothing to and decide that it's not worth talking about, but don't. You're then silencing us and once again, telling us we don't matter.  Instead of trying to sympathize, haveing a little bit of empathy or understanding, you'd rather delegitimize what POC go through. Doesn't it get tiring? 

To help get my point across I'm going to use a non-political example. It's much simpler to understand. A few days ago the infamous Kim Kardashian came under fire for...well, just watch the video below.

 Now! She has since retracted her statement and "sincerely" apologized, but that's not the point. The point is, why was everyone so upset? Because once again, here was a white woman accepting an apology from a "former" racist and telling POC to "get over it." Kim, Kim, Kim. It is not your place to accept an apology that was not meant for you nor was it directed at you. Of course you can say "get over it" it never affected you in the first place. So it's super easy to get over it. We will get over it when we are good and ready. We will accept his overly vindicated apology when we are good and ready. We will feel how we feel, because our feelings are valid. 

POPULAR TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page